Internet Chess club on Facebook Internet Chess club on Twitter Internet Chess club on Google+ Internet Chess club on YouTube Internet Chess club on LinkedIn Subscribe to Internet Chess Club RSS feed

GM Joel Benjamin recaps the semifinals of the 3rd FIDE GP

Opening: D36, E21, A05, D00, A15, E94: QGD; Exchange - positional line 6.Qc2, Nimzo-Indian: Three Knights Variation, Reti Opening, Queen's Pawn Game

Player(s): Nakamura, Mamedyarov, So, Tabatabaei

The 3rd leg of the FIDE Grand Prix is at its final stage!
The semifinals saw four players emerge victorious from the pools: Nakamura, Mamedyarov, Wesley So, and Tabatabaei.
Nakamura lost his first game of the pools with Levon Aronian, and he needed to get revenge the second time around of the double round-robin. Then he defeated Oparin and Esipenko to win his group with 4.0/6.
Wesley So went to the tiebreaks and defeated his fellow American Sam Shankland.
Mamedyarov also had to play the tiebreaks, defeating the young and strong German GM Vincent Keymer.
In the final group, there was a surprise with the young Iranian Amin Tabatabei winning the pool with a score of 3.5/6.
The semifinals saw Nakamura vs. Mamedyarov and Wesley So vs. Tabatabaei.
After the two classic games left the players tied - but in a very different way! - today, April 1st, they went on playing the tiebreaks.
Watch the video, and enjoy Joel's analysis and comments!
And don't miss the first game of the finals tomorrow, April the 2nd, at 9 AM EDT - 15:00 CEST - 13:00 UTC.

Teacher's library (453) D36 E21 A05 D00 A15 E94 Nakamura Mamedyarov So Tabatabaei recap

This is a 5 minute preview.

Log in to watch the full show or click one of the links below.

LOGIN or Get membership



FIND MORE VIDEOS


 

Page 1 of 86 pages  1 2 3 >  Last ›