Internet Chess club on Facebook Internet Chess club on Twitter Internet Chess club on Google+ Internet Chess club on YouTube Internet Chess club on LinkedIn Subscribe to Internet Chess Club RSS feed

TATA Steel 2024

January means Tata Steel, one of the year's most important tournaments.

Play starts January 13, at 8 AM EST, 14:00 local (Paris, Amsterdam, Rome, Berlin), 13:00 UTC.
The rest days are January 17, 22 and 25

The tournament is a round-robin with 14 players (13 rounds). Time control is 100 minutes for 40 moves, followed by 50 minutes for 20 moves, then 15 minutes for the rest of the game, with a 30-second increment per move from move one.

The nice (and cold) small town in the north of the country, Wijk aan Zee, hosts the blazoned event at its 86th edition.

Wijk aan Zee - Source:

Anish Giri, the Dutch super grandmaster, will be there to defend his title.
The line-up is impressive, with a rating average of 2712 (category 19).
Magnus won't be in Wijk aan Zee, but there is a lot of interest in the "return" of the reigning World Champion after months of being afar from the chess scene.
GM Liren Ding is indeed the first seed, and it'll be great to see him play again.
Another note of interest is the participation in the Master tournament of the Chinese GM Ju Wenjun, the current World Champion!

GM Ju Wenjun, reigning World Champion - Photo: Andreas Kontokanis . Source:

Last but not least, US Hans Niemann is the top seed in the Challenger tournament.

In Wijk aan Zee, there will be THREE World Champions playing: Liren Ding, Ju Wenjun, and the French Junior World Champion Marc’Andria Maurizzi (in the Challengers event).

Here is the official Tata Steel clip announcing the participants in the Master event:


Player Federation Rating  
Ding Liren China 2780
Ian Nepomniachtchi FIDE 2769

Alireza Firouzja

France 2759

Anish Giri

Nederlands 2749

Praggnanandhaa R

India 2743

Santosh Gujrathi Vidit

India 2742

Parham Maghsoodloo

Iran 2740

Wei Yi

China 2740

Nodirbek Abdusattorov

Uzbekistan 2727

Gukesh D

India 2725

Jorden Van Foreest

Nederlands 2682

Alexander Donchenko

Germany 2643

Max Warmerdam

Nederlands 2625

Ju Wenjun

China 2549