Internet Chess club on Facebook Internet Chess club on Twitter Internet Chess club on Google+ Internet Chess club on YouTube Internet Chess club on LinkedIn Subscribe to Internet Chess Club RSS feed

Rapid and Blitz World Chess Championship 2023

And Carlsen won the World Blitz Championship for the 7th time!
It's getting almost boring, with Magnus winning every single event he participates in.
FIDE acted against Nepomniachtchi and Dubov, nullifying their game. It is a very rare occurrence at this level, and if the (cute) game counted, Dubov would have finished tied with Carlsen.
Here is the official statement by FIDE:

Here are the top standings:

In the Women's Blitz Championship, GM Valentina Gunina kept her strong rivals behind, winning the title with a stunning 14.0/17, half a point ahead of the queen herself: GM Alexandra Kosteniuk.
Well done!


We've run out of adjectives to define the 2023 World Rapid champion.
Magnus Carlsen, the World Numero Uno, has once more etched his name in history by successfully retaining his World Rapid title. This marks Carlsen's fifth triumph in the Rapid format, adding to his impressive collection of five world championship titles in Classical chess and six world titles in Blitz chess, for a total of an impressive 16 World titles! 

Anastasia Bodnaruk has secured the title of the new Women's World Rapid Champion, being the first non-top player to conquer the title.

Congratz, Magnus, and Anastasia! And now, on to the blitz.

In Samarkand, a city steeped in chess history as the archaeological site of the world's oldest chess pieces dating back to the 6th-8th century AD, chess's past, present, and future will converge. This historic city is set to host a gathering of some of the finest contemporary chess players.

From December 26 to 30, this eagerly awaited five-day spectacle is poised to showcase the world's foremost chess players competing for the prestigious World Champion in Rapid and Blitz titles, spanning both Open and Women's categories. The prize fund is a substantial one million US dollars, with $700,000 allocated for the Open tournament and $300,000 for the Women's competition.

The event features an impressive lineup, bringing together renowned names synonymous with chess brilliance.


In the Open division, Magnus Carlsen takes the spotlight in the lineup. The former World Champion is set to uphold his titles in both Rapid and Blitz, which he secured in Almaty in 2022. During that period, he still held the world crown in classical chess. This marked the third occasion for the Norwegian maestro to possess all three chess crowns. Although he has ruled out contending for the classical chess crown, the 33-year-old Norwegian remains steadfast in his pursuit of victory in Blitz and Rapid, aiming for his fourth title in both competitions.

Meanwhile, Fabiano Caruana is eager to make his way to Samarkand to extend his stellar performance in 2023. Having triumphed in the Superbet Chess Classic, defended his US champion title, secured third place in the World Cup, claimed the top spot in the Saint Louis Rapid & Blitz, and emerged victorious at the 2023 Sinquefield Cup, Caruana, buoyed by his excellent form and successful outings, aspires to conclude the year on a triumphant note in Samarkand.

Except for the reigning world champion, Ding Liren, and Hikaru Nakamura, nearly all the formidable figures in the chess elite will converge in Samarkand. The lineup includes the two-time World Championship match participant Ian Nepomniachtchi, the experienced Levon Aronian, Anish Giri, Yu Yangyi, rising talents Jan-Krzysztof Duda and Vincent Keymer, alongside a cadre of top-tier players from India, spearheaded by Praggnanandhaa, Vidit, Erigaisi, and Gukesh.

Uzbekistan, the host country, pins its aspirations on Nodirbek Abdusattorov, the 2021 World Rapid Champion, and Javokhir Sindarov.

In the women's division, Tan Zhongyi aims to defend her Rapid title, while Bibisara Assaubayeva seeks to unify her past triumphs from 2022, when she claimed the Blitz event, and 2021, when she secured the Rapid crown. However, formidable challenges lie ahead with the presence of the four-time Women's World Champion, Ju Wenjun, and the 2023 World Cup victor and former world champion candidate, Aleksandra Goryachkina. They are joined by the world number two, Koneru Humpy, the current Women's World Championship challenger, Lei Tingjie, as well as top-10 world players Kateryna Lagno, Anna Muzychuk, and Nana Dzagnidze. Their adaptability across diverse game formats positions them as strong contenders for both the Rapid and Blitz titles.