Internet Chess club on Facebook Internet Chess club on Twitter Internet Chess club on Google+ Internet Chess club on YouTube Internet Chess club on LinkedIn Subscribe to Internet Chess Club RSS feed

U.S. Championship 2013

The 2013 U.S. Championship is the most prestigious event in the United States. It starts May the 2nd with the Opening ceremony. Play starts May the 3rd, at 2pm EDT.

To celebrate the 5th annyversary of the U.S. Championship played at the S. Louis Chess Club and Scholastic Center, the organizers have set up a 24-players 9 Rounds Swiss Tournament. 

Reigning Champion Hikaru Nakamura is not participating this year, but we will see several very strong players battling for the Title in S. Louis. And among those, some of the ICC commentators! Varuzhan Akobian, Joel Benjamin, Larry Christiansen, Gregory Kaidanov, Ben Finegold. To all of them our best wishes for a great tournament.

ICC will follow the Championship relaying all the boards, Highlights VIDEO Service and with Radio Broadcast for the last three Rounds.


Congratulations to the 2013 U.S. Champion: GM Gata Kamsky!


Highlights Videos


Round Date Host Play
1 May 03   GM Alex Yermolinsky
2 May 04   GM Alex Yermolinsky
3 May 05   GM Alex Yermolinsky
4 May 06   GM Alex Yermolinsky
5 May 07   GM Alex Yermolinsky
6 May 09   GM Alex Yermolinsky
7 May 10   GM Alex Yermolinsky
8 May 11   GM Alex Yermolinsky
9 May 12   GM Alex Yermolinsky


Participants - Photo ©



  Name Rating
1 GM Gata Kamsky 2815
2 GM Timur Gareev 2766
3 GM Alex Onischuk 2732
4 GM Ray Robson  2698
5 GM Sam Shankland  2698
6 GM Varuzhan Akobian  2690
7 GM Alexander Stripunsky  2680
8 GM Gregory Kaidanov  2673
9 GM Aleksandr Ivanov  2664
10 GM Robert Hess  2661
11 GM Larry Christiansen  2657
12 GM Yury Shulman  2639
13 GM Alexander Shabalov  2633
14 GM Marc Arnold  2626
15 GM Melikset Khachiyan  2625
16 FM Jorge Sammour-Hasbun  2621
17 GM Joel Benjamin  2618
18 NM Yaacov Norowitz  2612
19 GM Alejandro Ramirez  2606
20 GM Conrad Holt  2591
21 GM Ben Finegold  2570
22 FM John Bryant  2542
23 IM Kayden Troff  2505
24 FM Sam Sevian  2467