Internet Chess club on Facebook Internet Chess club on Twitter Internet Chess club on Google+ Internet Chess club on YouTube Internet Chess club on LinkedIn Subscribe to Internet Chess Club RSS feed
×

3rd FIDE Grand Prix 2022 - Round 4

We were almost complaining after 16 games with only one decisive result in the last two rounds and BAM!
The players today went all-out and produced FIVE decisive results out of eight games.
In Pool A, Naka's back. The American won a great game against Levon Aronian. A great feat by Hikaru, that with this win catches Levon at 2.0/4.
But they don't lead the Pool! Oparin, who so far is having a great tournament, defeated the higher-rated Esipenko, and now leads the group with 2.5/4.

 Pool A 1 2 3 4 PTS
Nakamura aa 0-1 1/2 1/2 2.0
Aronian 1-0 aa 1/2 1/2 2.0
Esipenko 1/2 1/2 aa 1/2-0 1.5
Oparin 1/2 1/2 1/2-1 aa 2.5
 

 

In Pool B, Mamedyarov outplayed the young German GM Keymer, and Dominguez drew with Dubov. Mamedyarov and Dominguez lead the group with 2.5/4.
 

 Pool B 1 2 3 4 PTS
Mamedyarov aa 1/2 1/2 1/2-1 2.5
Dominguez 1/2 aa 1-1/2 1/2 2.5
Dubov 1/2 0-1/2 aa 0 1.5
Keymer 1/2-0 1/2 1 aa 2.0
 

In Group C, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave beat Predke and So drew with Shankland. Now all the four players sit at 2.0/4!

 Pool C 1 2 3 4 PTS
So aa 1/2 1/2-1/2 1/2 2.0
Vachier-Lagrave 1/2 aa 1/2 0-1 2.0
Shankland 1/2-1/2 1/2 aa 1/2 2.0
Predke 1/2 1-0 1/2 aa 2.0
 


In Pool D, another surprise: Amin Tabatabaei, the young Iranian GM upset Nikita Vitiugov. Giri and Yu drew and, like in pool C, now everyone has 2 points.

 Pool D 1 2 3 4 PTS
Giri aa 1/2 1/2-1/2 1/2 2.0
Vitiugov 1/2 aa 1/2 1-0 2.0
Yu Yangyi 1/2-1/2 1/2 aa 1/2 2.0
Tabatabaei 1/2 0-1 1/2 aa 2.0
 

Tomorrow is a rest day. Play resumes on Sunday, March the 27th, at 9 AM EDT - 15:00 Berlin (Central Europe) - 14:00 UTC

Comments