Internet Chess club on Facebook Internet Chess club on Twitter Internet Chess club on Google+ Internet Chess club on YouTube Internet Chess club on LinkedIn Subscribe to Internet Chess Club RSS feed

48th Biel Grandmaster Tournament

Maxime Vachier-Lagrave from France, Michael Adams from England, David Navara from Czech Republic, Radoslaw Wojtaszek from Poland, Pavel Eljanov from Ukraine and Richard Rapport from Hungary are the strong bunch of GMs that will gather in Biel, Switzerland, to play the 48th traditional Grandmaster Tournament. The tournament has an average of 2720 Elo points (category 19) and will be held according to the Double Round Robin System (10 rounds).

Play starts July 20th at 8:00AM EDT - 14:00 Rome, Paris, Berlin - 13:00 London 

MVL is the defending champion. He's won this prestigious tournament three times (2009, 2013 and 2014), and this year the competition is pretty tough. Maxime comes from a not-so-bad super-tournament in Norway, where he shared 5-6th with Fabiano Caruana. Michael Adams, the veteran of the group, is the GM with the highest rating (2740), and though he doesn't participate very often in top events, we all know how strong his play can be. David Navara is able to play great chess when in form, and the solid Eljanov is another tough client to deal with. Rapport is the youngest and a former chess prodigy; he is the youngest ever Hungarian GM, and has already won important events. It will be interesting to follow his games in this strong tournament. Wojtaszek made an impression at the Tata Steel Tournament this year, where he was the only one able to beat World Champion Magnus Carlsen, and the then-number-two Fabiano Caruana. This Top-GM-Killa is capable of beating everyone, and for sure adds interest to the Biel grandmaster tournament!

The tournament promises to be interesting, and ICC will relay all the games LIVE.

 

Comments